We love East Texas.

ETX Music

Covering all major East Texas music genres and media since 2010

Join us!

Since 2011

Recipients of the East Texas Music Award include Don Henley, Kidd Kraddick, Neal McCoy, Ally Venable, The Purple Hulls, Curtis Grimes, Kadie Lynn, Darrin Morris, Cody Wayne, Rockett Queen, and many more.

Become a signature (naming) sponsor of our next event!


Official Nominees for 2018

Voting has reached half a million votes since 2011. As NBC, FOX, and CBS affiliates have reported, Texas once again comes together for the eighth annual ETX Music Awards event.

1. Entertainer of the Year

Ally Venable Band

Koe Wetzel

Curtis Grimes

Darrin Morris 

Lee Mathis 

2. Americana / Roots Artist of the Year


Cole Allen

Lulu and the Black Sheep

Riley Redding

The Kid Icarus Project

3. Blues Artist of the Year

Lance Lopez

Hubcap and the Loose Nuts

Salvation From Sundown

Johnny & The Nightcrawlers

Bobby Edwards & the Bluez Boyz

4. Bluegrass Artist of the Year

Hickory Hill

The Purple Hulls 

East Mountain Bluegrass

The Hubbard Family

Sabine River Bend Bluegrass Band

5. Country Artist of the Year

Lee Mathis

Chris Colston 

Sarah Hobbs

Curtis Grimes

John Hord 

6. Hip Hop / Rap Artist of the Year


Lil Levi (Mr. 501)

Myzta Hamblen

TC (Todd Clayton) 

Yung Ted

7. Inspirational Artist of the Year

Max Mcruiz


Robert Stowell

Jill Brandon

Justin Gambino

8. Jazz Artist of the Year

Texarkana Youth Jazz Orchestra 

Maryah McHam & Martyn Popey 

Purple Velvet Fox

Apache Jazz Ensemble

Low D 

9. Latin Artist of the Year

Karisia Hernandez 

Los Guerreros de la Musica (LGM)

David Olivarez

Senor gringo jazz

Los Texmaniacs

10. Metal Artist of the Year

Victims of Sanity

Post Profit

Deathrow Bodeen




11. Punk Rock Artist of the Year


Outbound Train

The Dead Chachis

The Pullouts


12. Rock Artist of the Year

We Have Your Dog

Eli Tidmore

Porters Bluff

White Trash Wannabees

Alan Fox Band

13. Acoustic Artist of the Year

Billie Jo Sewell


Anna Stockdale

Meredith Crawford

Clint Alford

14. Female Vocalist of the Year

Sarah Hobbs

Anna Stockdale

Kensie Coppin

Billie Jo Sewell 

Meredith Crawford

15. Male Vocalist of the Year

Matthew Jackson

Drew Theiring

John Hord 

Curtis Grimes

Eli Tidmore

16. Bassist of the Year

Greg Cagle

Ronnie Edwards

Zach Terry

Clint McMullen

Syd Hydro

17. Drummer / Percussionist of the Year

Darrell Lewis

Mike Hill

Kenneth Brackeen

Mike Reiner

Gunner Ammons

18. Guitarist of the Year

Rio Wallace

Donnie Dodson

Bobby Edwards

Griffin Tucker

Nathan Tubb

19. Fiddler of the Year

Milo Deering

David Varnado

Sheila Weaver

Wes Barlow

Lacie Carpenter

20. Harmonica Player of the Year

Tad Phillips

Teddy Haynes

Cole Allen

Heather Linn Gunsolus

Chris Wallace


21. Keys Player of the Year

Dr. Randall Sutton

Sonia Tiner

Clayton Jones

Karisia Hernandez

George Faber

22. Steel / Dobro Player of the Year

Laine Thibodeaux

Dillon Horton

Milo Deering

Red Leone

Cody Angel

23. Producer of the Year

Orlando Williams

Walter Lee

Chad Mauldin

Frank Pryor

Lloyd Maines

24. Video of the Year

So Grateful by Exalt

Raining in Amarillo by Crystal Yates

Green Eyed Texas Angel by Darrin Morris

Dallas on Your Boots by Holly Tucker

Leeway by Bibeau

25. Songwriter of the Year

Anna Stockdale

Heather Little

Sheila Clark

Chris Colston

Eli Tidmore

26. Song of the Year

Redneckin by Billie Jo Sewell

Something About the Rain by Lee Mathis

Ride by Alan Fox

Green Eyed Texas Angel by Darrin Morris

903 in the Game by TC (Todd Clayton)

27. Album of the Year

Chameleon by Eli Tidmore

Bibeau by Bibeau

Tell the Truth by Lance Lopez

Puppet Show by Ally Venable

Steel by Holly Tucker

28. Junior Artist of the Year

Trinity Wennerstrom

Simon Young


Cardis Wilkinson

Karisia Hernandez

29. Marching Band of the Year

Carthage High School

Mineola High School 

Sabine High School 

Kilgore High School

Athens High School

30. Radio Station of the Year

KYKX - 105.7 FM 

KKTX - 96.1 FM 

KVNE - 89.5 FM

KYYK - 98.3 FM

KNUE - 101.5 FM


31. Radio DJ / Media Personality of the Year

Buddy Logan

John Burnley

Kat Powers

Boston Chris

Diane Day

32. Music Venue of the Year

Crossroads Music Venue, Tyler, Texas

XL'N Pool Hall & Club, Tyler, Texas

The Back Porch, Kilgore, Texas

Moore's Store, Ben Wheeler, Texas

The Gladewater Opry, Gladewater, Texas

33. Magazine of the Year


EGuide Magazine

BScene Magazine

Tyler Today

County Line Magazine

34. Lifetime Achievement Award

Ken Chinn

John DeFoore 

Award Recipients

ETX Music Office - Take the Research Survey!

If you'd like to give input about the music scene, take this brief survey and let us know what you think!

Take Survey


Sign up to hear from us about specials, sales, and events.